Scream No More

Teresa Lopez

The past bleeds into the future, piercing the silky veil, and evenings fill with broken dreams.

Screams peel through the night at witching hour. She howls till gray’s end. I cover my ears, and squeeze my eyes shut, wishing she’d stop. Time is unforgiving and madness descends like whispers in flight. My mind splinters.

Her voice is unfailing, for long hours she wails. My head hurts. I pull my hair’s ends. Shadows circle my eyes. My shrunken face ashen. I’ve forgotten when last I slept or ate.

My steps are light. My vision blurred. The trail vivid in my memory, I ease between the green on barefoot. Branches scratch, shrubs tear.

Embracing the stone she rest under, she does not accept my comfort. My pleas for silence are unheard, escape impossible. It never stops. Unwilling to bend, my daughter is not ready.

Inspiring Sentence

skuppy

My daughter won’t stop crying and screaming in the middle of the night. I visit her grave and ask her to stop, but it doesn’t help.

http://thoughtcatalog.com/michael-koh/2013/07/40-freaking-creepy-ass-two-sentence-stories